Chickpea flour tofu easy recipe

2 weeks has passed since my last post was published. Now try to guess, what I was looking for during all this time? Rhubarb is the answer. I haven’t found it yet and it’s a kind of culinary frustration as I was looking forward to cooking something with it so much (it’s hard to believe but I’ve never tried  rhubarb yet). There is just no rhubarb in Bratislava, at least in all grocery stores where I usually do shopping and even farm market can‘t help this time. However, I don’t lose hope to bake my first Rhubarb cake.

So I will not write about Rhubarb in this post, but I will share Chickpea flour tofu recipe.

I was experimenting with chickpea flour for a while. Ravioli and muffins with half of chickpea flour and half of usual wheat flour tasted nice, but I was searching new ways how to use it. I found the recipe of Burmese tofu made of this flour (also known as gram or besan flour) and I was amazed with this simple dish as soon as I had cooked it.

Short info about the recipe.

The first thing to remember is that chickpea flour tofu and “classical” soya tofu don’t have anything in common as this traditional to Burma cuisine recipe doesn’t include fermentation. It’s rather chickpea flour polenta. Then, as soon as Burmese tofu is cooked and ready to eat, you can use it like classical tofu. I fried it and then used for quinoa-vegetable salad.

Ingredients:
chickpea flour – 2 cups
salt – 2 teaspoons
water – 6 glasses

Original recipe includes of 1/4 teaspoon ground turmeric but I wanted to make it more “local” and used 2 teaspoons of sweet paprika like substitution.

Directions:

  1. Mix flour with 2 cups of water and salt in a large bowl. Whisk until smooth.
  2. Boil rest of the water in the pot with heavy bottom (as it’s a risk to burn your tofu and heavy-bottomed pot can solve this problem) and turn heat to medium-high. Stir your chickpea mixture and then carefully and slowly put mixture into water.
  3. Decrease heat a little bit and cook up to 8 minutes. At the middle of the process add paprika. Don’t forget to stir properly until mixture changes texture to thick.
  4. Then pour tofu into baking form greased with sunflower oil (I have 25 x 25 cm square form).

Wait until tofu cools and then put it to the fridge for 1 hour. Some water could drain out, it’s ok 🙂 The longer it will stay, the firmer it will become.

chickpea tofu

This “wanna be” tofu can be stored in the fridge for 3 days.

If you are looking for a way how to bring some diversity to your eating habits without spending hours in the kitchen, this dish is a nice option for you.

Author: Ferns'n'Cakes

https://fernsandcakes.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

